British Fashion Awards 2012

November 30, 2012

By Julia Eskins

Photography by Darren Gerrish and courtesy of the British Fashion Council

This week, a global nod of approval followed the 2012 British Fashion Awards, which celebrated British and international fashion industries.

The Tuesday evening award show, held by the British Fashion Council, presented 14 awards to leaders in fashion, creativity, design and style. The event took place at the Savoy Hotel and theatre and attracted notable guests like Valentino, Manolo Blahnik CBE and Sarah Burton.

The highest accolade of the evening went to British fashion designer, Stella McCartney, who took home the British Designer of the Year Award. It has undoubtedly been a successful year for her, as she created the uniforms for the Great Britain team at the 2012 Olympic Games in London.

Jonathan Anderson; Alexa Chung; Kim Jones; Cara Delevingne; Jonathan Saunders; Roksanda Ilincic; Professor Louise Wilson OBE; Erdem Moralioglu; Manolo Blahnik CBE; Stella McCartney; Sophie Hulme and Nicholas Kirkwood.

A Canadian label that is London-based, Erdem, won the New Establishment Award. The Montréal designer behind the line, Erdem Moralioglu, has quickly gained global attention for dressing A-listers and royals, including Anne Hathaway, Keira Knightley and Kate Middleton.

Manolo Blahnik CBE took home the prestigious award of Outstanding Achievement in Fashion, which recognizes a designer whose career has made a lasting impact on the international fashion industry.

Full list of winners

British Style Award Alexa Chung presented by Valentino

Outstanding Achievement in Fashion Manolo Blahnik CBE presented by Zaha Hadid DBE

Emerging Talent Award – Ready-To-Wear J.W. Anderson presented by Pixie Geldof

Emerging Talent Award – Accessories Sophie Hulme presented by Marc Newson

Emerging Talent Award – Menswear Jonathan Saunders presented by Ronnie Wood

Special Recognition Harold Tillman CBE presented by HRH Princess Beatrice of York

Red Carpet Award Roksanda Ilincic presented by Andrea Riseborough

Accessory Designer Nicholas Kirkwood presented by Susie Bick

Designer Brand Stella McCartney presented by Amber Valletta

Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator Louise Wilson OBE presented by Jonathan Saunders

New Establishment Erdem presented by Samantha Cameron

Model Cara Delevingne presented by Ellen Von Unwerth

Menswear Designer Kim Jones for Louis Vuitton presented by Lily Cooper

Designer of the Year Stella McCartney presented by Salma Hayek


Join In On The Conversation!

Add your comment below, trackback from your own site, or subscribe to these comments via RSS.


Recent Topics